Our Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Working Group


In Easter Term 2020, the College's Governing Body voted to approve the creation of the Equality, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI) Working Group to help guide and inform policies, procedures and behaviours across all aspects of College life.   


This body has three main areas of focus:  

  1. To gather information about issues of concern;  
  2. To make this information available to College decision-makers;  and
  3. To encourage and support efforts to strengthen toleration, mutual respect, and fairness across College.  

The aspects of EDI work covered by the group include but are not limited to: 

  • Race 

  • Disability  

  • Gender and gender identity  

  • Neurodiversity 

  • Sexuality 

  • Religious affiliation 

  • Class and socioeconomic background 

  • Educational background 

  • Nationality 


The membership of the group aims to represent all facets of the St Catharine's community, and includes Fellows, staff and students. In addition to the standing/regular members described in the table below, due to the evolving nature of its work, the group is also able to co-opt further individuals from our community either to serve on the main group or to take part in specific project groups 


Nomination & selection 

Regular members


Four permanent student positions on are shared by liberation officers elected by the College's JCR and MCR. Aiming for a breadth of knowledge and experience across a range of EDI-related matters, other students are encouraged to join project groups and have the opportunity to attend EDI meetings when relevant.  

  • Jolyn Koh (JCR International Officer)
  • Athith Anandavathanan (JCR Disabilities Officer)
  • Miruna Tiberiu (JCR LGBTQ+ Officer)
  • Isabella Woolston (JCR LGBTQ+ Officer)
  • Georgina Street (JCR Women's & Non-Binary Officer)
  • Stephanie Olujinmi-Raji (JCR BAME Officer)
  • Rachel McKeown (MCR Access Officer
  • Sohane Ines Mousseid Yahya (MCR BME Officer)
  • Emma Dinnage (co-opted)
  • Frey Kalus (MCR LGBTQ+ Officer, co-opted)


Staff were invited to express interest to the Welfare Office, Chaplain or their Head of Department.

  • Michelle Webb
  • Dave Dove 
  • Maxine Flynn (co-opted)
  • Rob Jonas 
  • Heather Lund
  • Mary Simuyandi (co-opted)
  • Arianna Pezzuolo
  • Kat Steer (co-opted)


Official and Professorial Fellows were invited to submit expressions of interest to the Fellows’ Registrar, and these names were then referred to Nominations Committee for review.

  • Dr Colin Higgins (co-opted)
  • Mr Tristan Cummings
  • Dr Lyn Welland