Skip to main content
St Catharine's College, Cambridge Search

Kellaway Concerts

The Kellaway series at St Catharine's College, Cambridge showcases the best instrumental and choral music in the University

The Kellaway Concert Series have been made possible by a generous bequest from the estate of the late Donald Kellaway, a Fellow of St Catharine’s College. The series showcases the best instrumental and choral music in the University and also brings to the College professional musicians to coach and collaborate with students.

The Kellaway Concert Series presents its fifteenth season: a typically eclectic mix of the old and new. In recent years, the series has presented large-scale works such as Mozart's Requiem and Monteverdi's Vespers, and hosted artists ranging from ensembles such as Ensemble Bash and Chamber Domaine, to solo performers such as Robin Tritschler and Malcolm Martineau and organists William Whitehead and Andrew Reid. The series also caters for eclectic musical tastes, regularly hosting world and contemporary music programmes, sound installations and jazz.  

Tickets are free to college members and staff; see individual concert details for ticket price.

Reserve Tickets here.

Kellaway Season: 2019-20

Friday 24 January

Catz40 Recital

As part of the celebrations to mark the 40th anniversary of the admission of women to St Catharine's, we present a programme by alumnae of the College.
featuring Ivanac Gavrić, Maxine Moore, Jessica Eccleston, Hannah Bell, Frances Leith and Megan Wheeler
in works by
Brahms, Fauré, Vaughan Williams and others

£10/£5 (concs)/£2 (students); free to college members and staff
College Chapel, 6.00 pm lasting one hour

Friday 7 February

Ensemble Bash

Siwe Bell Music - Traditional Ghanaian, arr. Afadina Atsikpa and ensemblebash
Yaa Yaa Kole - arr. Thomas Sekgura and ensemblebash
Tunnel - Simon Limbrick
New Work - Sarah Angliss
Shining Through - Nick Hayes
Kumpo - Traditional Senegalese Drumming, arr. Paulinus Bozie and ensemblebash

Since the formation of ensemblebash in the UK in 1992, the group has forged a reputation as one of the world’s most innovative and groundbreaking chamber ensembles. Using the music of West Africa as both core repertoire and a guiding spiritual influence, the group mixes contemporary classical, jazz and music theatre into unforgettable performances.

ensemblebash has toured the UK and Europe extensively, including numerous appearances at the Southbank Centre and BBC Proms, most recently in 2012 with Eric Whitacre and Imogen Heap. Four major tours of Italy have included, in 2003, a performance for the Primo Maggio concert in Rome to an audience of more than 500,000. Further afield, ensemblebash has performed throughout Ghana, at the Melbourne and Sydney International Festivals, and in Hong Kong, to mark the handover of the colony to the Chinese in 1997.

£10/£5 (concs)/£2 (students); free to college members and staff
College Chapel, 6.00 pm lasting one hour

Friday 14 February

Student Showcase Concert
Ludwig Cheng (violin), Oscar Tovey Garcia (flute), Isabella Savage (soprano)

£10/£5 (concs)/£2 (students); free to college members and staff
College Chapel, 6.00 pm lasting one hour

Friday 6 March

Tenor Madness jazz ensemble
St Catharine's College Consort

Renaissance [dis-]Ruptions

An innovative collaboration between members of St Catharine's College Choir and the Jazz Trio, Tenor Madness.

Renaissance [dis-]Rupture brings together Renaissance polyphony and contemporary improvisation to create an enchanting and provocative new sound-world.

Tenor Madness is a piano trio project that takes Renaissance and Baroque themes and improvises on them in the modern idiom – much as all musicians of previous centuries would have done. Two musicians unusually steeped in both Baroque and jazz music – leading pianist, harpsichordist and composer David Gordon and bassist and broadcaster Sandy Burnett – are joined by brilliant drummer Tom Hooper (Grace Jones, Simple Minds, Omar, Sir John Dankworth).

£10/£5 (concs)/£2 (students); free to college members and staff
College Chapel, 8.00 pm lasting one hour NB start time

Friday 24 April

The Ramsden Recital
The Choirs of St Catharine's College

College Chapel, 6.00 pm lasting forty-five minutes
Admission free

Also in this section

Contact details

Director of Music
Dr Edward Wickham
01223 337746