The 1473 Foundation

Read about the 1473 Foundation, the donors' recognition circle at St Catharine's.

The 1473 Foundation is a circle of Members and friends who have, through their generosity, affirmed their support of the College’s commitment to world-class education. Established in 2009, the Foundation’s name commemorates the opening of the College on St Catharine’s Day in 1473.

Membership is open to individuals whose gifts to the College total £50,000 and above. It is usual for membership to be conferred by the Master at the 1473 Foundation Gala. This annual event takes place in College, with occasional international events also taking place, to recognise our supporters overseas. The second such international Gala was held in Singapore in April 2018.

Investing in our future

The 1473 Foundation was established alongside the ‘St Catharine’s Campaign’, which sought to raise £30 million. This target was achieved in 2016, enabling provision of new and improved College facilities, additional teaching posts, and increased financial support for students.

A new campaign, ‘Our College, Our Future’, was launched in January 2019, following a comprehensive strategic review of all aspects of College life. We seek £65 million to meet our strategic priorities.

  1. A world-class education in a supportive environment that promotes aspiration,diversity and welfare.
  2. A selective, planned renewal of buildings and spaces.
  3. To develop our people to best serve our College community.
  4. To expand the College’s revenue base, build our endowment and manage our investments prudently, to maximise support for our students.

As of September 2022, £57 million in donations and further pledges has been received. This outstanding result includes receipt of two extraordinary gifts: the first for PhD bursaries and undergraduate student support; and the second for a major renewal of College central spaces.

The focus of the campaign is now on completing funding for our building plans – covering central spaces, St Chad’s and Hobson’s – and raising funds to protect, in perpetuity, both key posts of College life and College sport, as well as additional resources for widening participation projects.

We look forward to building on this success with your support, and to welcoming new donors to our community of benefactors. Please contact the Alumni and Development Office if you would like to discuss supporting the College and joining the 1473 Foundation: +44 (0)1223 338337 or

The St Catharine's 1473 Foundation

Mr Eric Allen (1954)

Mrs Ann Ardron

Mr Jon Ardron (1983)

Mr Yibo Bao (2001)

Mr Jas Bains (1998)

Mr Herbert Bate (1963)

Dr John Bates (1996)

The late Professor Sir Alan Battersby FRS (1969)

Mr Guy Beringer CBE KC (1973)

The late Mr Ben Bibby (1949)

Mr Alan Binnington (1977)

Mr Douglas Blausten FRICS (1971)

The late Mr Peter Boizot MBE DL (1950)

Mr Philip Bowring (1960)

Dr Will Bratton (1996)

Mr Richard Burston

Mr Paul Bunzl (1981)

Professor Tao Soon Cham (1965)

The late Mr Roy Chapman FCA (1955)

Professor David Cheung (1958)

Mr Matthew Collins (1979)

Mr Neil Cosgrove (1993)

Dr Ian Cragg-Hine (1989)

Ms Joanne Cunningham (1996)

Mr Garrett Curran (1991)

Mrs Christina Dawson (2016)

Mr Peter Dawson (1974)

Mr Nigel Denison (1977)

Ms Elizabeth Doty (2008)

Mr George Doty

Mrs Lee Spelman Doty

Mr Rupert Edis (1990)

Dr John Endicott (1964)

The late Dr David Epps (1952)

The Revd John Evans (1962)

The Baroness Fairhead CBE (1980)

Ms Janet Farrant

Mr Ian Filby (1978)

Mrs Susan Filby


Mr Michael George (1982)

Mr David Gregson (1975)

Mr Simon Hall MBE (1973)

Mr David Harding (1979)

Dr Joanne Harris MBE (1982)

Mr John Harvey CBE (1954)

Mr Andrew Heller (1986)

Sir Michael Heller FCA (1955)

Lady Heller (2003)

Dr Patrick Holden (1957)

Sir Mark Horner (1975)

Mr Mark Humphries (1980)

Dr Debbie Ivory
(on behalf of the Ivory Family)

Mr Andy Jones (1990)

His Honour Dr Colin Kolbert (1956)

Mr David Lambourne (1956)

Mr Nat le Roux (1976)

Mr Nick Longhurst (1990)

Mr Ben Loomes (1995)

Mr Christopher Lowe (1985)

The late Mr Bevil Mabey CBE (1935)

Mrs Alison MacDougall (1984)

Mr Neil MacDougall (1984)

Sir Harvey McGrath (1971)

Mr Ricky Mendis (1953)

Mr Richard Moat (1973)

Mr Roger Morley (1989)

Mr Hitoshi Nagata (1980)

Mrs Elaine Ng (1984)

Mr Richard Nichols (1984)

Mr Malcolm Onley (1962)

Mr Neil Ostrer (1978)

Mr Alan Pardoe QC (1961)

Mr Nick Parker FCA (1965)

Ms Tina Patel (1989)

Mr William Paul (1992)
Mr Robert Perlman (1962)

Mr Martin Reeves (1988)

Mr Nick Reilly CBE (1968)


Mr Mark Richer (1982)

Mr Bernard Robertson (1962)

Mrs Gwen Owen Robinson (1982)

Mr Tim Russell (1979)

Mr Alan Saunders (1967)

Dr Brian Sweeney (1963)

Mr Ken Tan (1993)

The late Mr Martin Taylor CBE (1955)

The late Mr Richard Thompson (1956)

Dr Chris Thorne (1963)

Mrs Mary Timms

Dr Ralph Timms (1961)

The late Mr Richard Walduck OBE (1959)

Mr Max Ward (1968)

Ms Frances Wong (1993)

Mr Kenneth Wong (1992)

Mr Brian Woodham (1961)

Mr Ping Yi Yee (1991)

Ms Stella Sheung Mun Yiu (1981)

The late Professor Peter Young (1946)

Ms Helma Zebregs (on behalf of the family of Martin Smith)

Members still to be admitted to the Foundation

Mr Simon Carter (1994)

Mrs Sarah Caskey-Smith

Mr Rick Curtis (1973)

Mr Rob Everett (1986)

Mr Christopher Gorman (1958)

Mr Anthony Haller (1974)
Mr Nigel Jewers (1961)



Mr Franklin Lam

Mrs Justina Lian (on behalf of Mr Jie Lian)

Mr Nick Nacht (1965)

Mr Alistair Phillips-Davies (1985)

Mr Jim Smith, Jr (1976)

Dr Kern Wildenthal (1968)


Contact details

Alumni & Development Office
+44 (0)1223 338337
Email us