Professor Pierre Raphaël

Non linear partial differential equations, fluid mechanics, singularity formation
Herchel Smith Professor of Pure Mathematics

Pierre Raphaël is the Herchel Smith Professor of Pure Mathematics. His research lies at the border between physics and pure mathematics, and aims in particular at understanding energy concentration mechanisms and singularity formation during the propagation of non-linear waves. After graduating from École Polytechnique (France), he received his PhD in Mathematics from the University of Cergy-Pontoise, and moved to Princeton (USA) as an Assistant Professor. He returned to France as the principal investigator of several European grants, and joined Cambridge’s Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics in 2019. He was invited to the International Congress of Mathematicians in 2014, and was awarded the Grand Prix Alexandre Joannides 2014 from the French Academy of Sciences and a Royal Society Wolfson Fellowship in 2019.

  • Merle, F.; Raphael, P.; Rodnianski, I, Type II blow up for the energy supercritical NLS,  Camb. J. Math. 3 (2015), no. 4, 439--617.
  • Martel, Y.; Merle, F.; Raphael, P.; Blow up for the critical gKdV equation I: dynamics near the solitary wave,  Acta Math. 212 (2014), no. 1, 59--140.
  • Merle, F.; Raphael, P.; Rodnianski, I., Blow up dynamics for smooth​ equivariant solutions to the energy critical Schrodinger map,   Invent. Math. 193 (2013), no. 2, 249–365.
  • Raphael, P.; Szeftel, J., Existence and uniqueness of minimal blow up solutions to an inhomogeneous mass critical NLS equation,  J. Amer. Math. Soc. 24 (2011), no. 2, 471--546.
  • Merle, F.; Raphael, P., Blow up dynamic and upper bound on the blow up rate for critical nonlinear Schrodinger equation,  Ann. Math. 161 (2005), no. 1, 157--222
ERC Consolidator Grant SingWave (2015-2020);
Royal Society Wolfson fellowship (2019);
Grand Prix Alexandre Joannides of the French Academy of Sciences (2014)
Grand Prix Alexandre Joannides of the French Academy of Sciences (2014); Royal Society Wolfson fellowship (2019); ERC Consolidator Grant SingWave (2015-2020);